Book Review: Murder at the Brightwell by Ashley Weaver

Murder at the Brightwell

by Ashley Weaver

🍸🍸🍸🍸 (four stars as rated in classy-ass martinis, darling)


I was given an advanced reader copy of this book by the publisher via NetGalley in exchange for an honest review.

Ashley Weaver, you evil genius. Giving out free “ARC’s” of the first book in your deliciously bingeable series to get us all hooked? Brilliant! Murder at the Brightwell was SO much fun! I love “locked door” style period mysteries and this one was ab-so-lutely delightful. Not to mention, the thing is classy af. 🎩 A perfect story for fans of Agatha Christie or Jaqueline Winspear and, as a fan of both, I just adored it.

Ashley Weaver’s writing is gorgeous. And I found the mystery to be fantastic. It accomplished everything I seek from this genre without getting overly convoluted. The conclusion came as a surprise to me (a big win) and I really didn’t know who to believe until all was revealed at the end.

As for the love triangle…. siiiiigh. Without giving too much away, let me just say that, honestly, I did not want Amory to end up with either of them. Womp. I needed more discussion about what happened between everyone prior to this story before I could declare that either romance legitimately deserved a second shot. I guess I’m happy with how things ended up? Really, though, I’m hoping for some majorly redemptive romance in the second book. We (and she) are owed that much at least!!

Content Warnings for this book: murder and attempted murder, infidelity, attempted suicide, drowning, dysfunctional relationship, toxic relationship, emotional abuse, bullying, manipulation

Image Description: A flatlay featuring the book Murder at the Brightwell by Ashley Weaver. To the left of the novel, Sarah’s hand is reaching into the frame toward a dry martini with two green olives on a toothpick adorning it. To the top, bottom and right of the book are a slew of disarrayed playing cards. There is an open accordion hand fan at the top left corner, peeking into the frame and a string of pearls just to the right.

I am TERRIBLY behind on my reviewing for the year. Really hoping to play a bit of catch- up in January! Happy New Year Everyone! 🤞

Best,

Sarah

Published by girlonbooks

My name is Sarah and I can't imagine my life without books. Actually, I can and it's terrible. I'm also into climbing, video games and bothering the nearest cat.

One thought on “Book Review: Murder at the Brightwell by Ashley Weaver

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: