New Releases to Read in April (Based on Your Sign)

*Edit* CW: Zionism. In a previous version of this post my book recommendation for Libra featured an author who I later discovered had expressed Zionist views and problematic behavior online. It is for this reason that I no longer feel comfortable recommending their work on my page. The book has been replaced with Forest of Stolen Girls by Jun Hur, a novel of which I was not familiar upon the initial posting of this collection but think is more deserving of recommendation.

It’s a brand new month and that means even more brand new book releases! I love the start of the month almost as much as I love astrology. So, for April I’ve compiled reading recs for every sign of the zodiac with quick little blurbs about each. Plus, a couple bonus books at the end for all my fellow Aries’ out there. It is our season after all…


Aries: The Infinity Courts by Akemi Dawn Bowman

Nami Miyamoto is on her way to a party with her entire class and, most importantly, the boy she’s in love with. The only problem? She’s murdered before she gets there.

Why Aries? Aries rules the head and leads with the head, often literally walking head first, leaning forwards for speed and focus. 

πŸ¦„ YA Fantasy
⏱️ Fast Paced
🌏 East Asian Rep
πŸ’” Grief and Love
Pub date: April 6, 2021

Taurus: Dial A for Aunties by Jesse Q. Sutanto

Pub Date: April 27, 2021

When Meddelin Chan ends up accidentally killing her blind date, her meddlesome mother calls for her even more meddlesome aunties to help get rid of the body.

Why Taurus? Taurus is ruled by Venus which is governed by love, beauty and money.

πŸ’• Rom Com
πŸ”Ž Cozy Mystery
🌏 East Asian Rep
πŸ“– Adult Fiction

Gemini: Paradise, Nevada by Dario Diofebi

From an exhilarating new literary voice–the story of four transplants braving the explosive political tensions behind the deceptive, spectacular, and endlessly self-reinventing city of Las Vegas.

Why Gemini? Geminis are skilled adapting to their surroundings based on the vibe or energy.

βš–οΈ Political Fiction
βœ’οΈ Debut Author
🎒 Thriller
πŸ₯€ Flawed Characters
Pub date: April 6, 2021

Cancer: Folklorn by Angela Mi Young Hur

Pub date: April 27, 2021

A genre-defying, continents-spanning saga of Korean myth, scientific discovery, and the abiding love that binds even the most broken of families.

Why Cancer? Deeply intuitive, Cancers are superstitious and care deeply about matters of the family. 

🌳 Family Focused
πŸ“• Literary Fiction
πŸ‡°πŸ‡· Korean Folklore
πŸͺ„ Magical Realism

Pop over to Bookish Brew’s to read Amanda’s review of Folklorn.


Leo: When Stars Rain Down by Angela Jackson-Brown

When the Ku Klux Klan descends on Opal Pruitt’s neighborhood of Colored Town, Parsons’s residentsβ€”both Black and whiteβ€”are forced to confront the unspoken codes of conduct in their town. 

Why Leo? Leos are known for big-heartedness, self-confidence, and natural leadership.

πŸ’ž Young Love
🎀 Own Voices
😭 Emotional
πŸ“œ Historical Fiction
Pub Date: April 13, 2021

Virgo: Crying in H Mart: A Memoir by Michelle Zauner

Pub date: April 20, 2021

Michelle Zauner describes her relationship with her mother, being the only Asian American kid at her school and months spent with her grandmother in Seoul.

Why Virgo? Virgos are known for being perfectionists, and can be meticulous in their pursuit of improvement.

🍜 Food Memoir
πŸ’” Grief and Love
😭 Emotional
🌳Family Focused

Libra: The Forest of Stolen Girls by June Hur

After her father vanishes while investigating the disappearance of 13 young women, a teen returns to her secretive hometown to pick up the trail.

Why Libra? Libras are clever, observant and adept at critical thinking.

🎲 Plot Twists
🌏 East Asian Rep
πŸ’« Atmospheric
🌳 Family Focused
Pub date: April 20, 2021

Scorpio: Zara Hossain is Here by Sabina Khan

Pub date: April 6, 2021

Zara’s family has waited years for their visa process to be finalized so that they can officially become US citizens. But it only takes one moment for that dream to come crashing down around them.

Why Scorpio? Scorpios are determined, decisive and known for their calm and cool behavior.

πŸ³οΈβ€πŸŒˆ Bisexual MC
⏱️ Fast Paced
πŸ“– YA Fiction
🧭 Immigrant Experience

Sagittarius: Pride and Premeditation by Tirzah Price

A clever retelling of Pride and Prejudice that re-imagines the iconic settings, characters, and romances in a thrilling and high-stakes whodunit.

Why Sagittarius? Sags are known for their loyalty, reckless energy, and dedication to unearthing the truth.

πŸ”Ž Cozy Mystery
πŸ“š First in Series
πŸƒ Easy Reading
🌹 Historical Romance
Pub date: April 6, 2021

Capricorn: The Prison Healer by Lynette Noni

Pub date: April 13, 2021

Kiva Meridan’s trials have just begun with a plague sweeping the death prison of Zalindov, a mysterious inmate fighting for her heart and a rebellion brewing.

Why Capricorn? Caps are smart, hardworking, and typically achieve whatever they set their mind to.

πŸ¦„ YA Fantasy
🎲 Plot Twists
πŸ“š First in Series
πŸ’€ Dark Content

Aquarius: Somewhere Between Bitter and Sweet by Laekan Zea Kemp

When Penelope Prado must choose between disappointing her traditional Mexican-American parents or following her own path, a cute newcomer asks the questions she’s been too afraid to ask herself.

Why Aquarius? Aquarians value intellect and are often willing to risk everything for their family.

πŸŽ‚ Coming of Age
πŸ‡²πŸ‡½  Mexican-American Rep
🧠 Mental Health
πŸ“– YA Fiction
Pub date: April 6, 2021

Pisces: First, Become Ashes by K.M. Szpara

Pub date: April 6, 2021

A fantastic standalone adventure that blends pain and pleasure and will make readers question what is real, and what is magical.

Why Pisces? Pisces are known to be empathetic dreamers whose imaginative skills are unparalleled.

πŸ›Έ Sci-Fi/Fantasy
πŸ’– Queer Romance
😭 Emotional
πŸ—£οΈ Unreliable Narrator

And because I’m obsessed with making graphics, here’s a shareable map of all the books on my list for April. Feel free to post it on your socials. Zodiac fun is better with friends. : )


Aries Season Bonus Reads:

Malice by Heather Walters

A princess isn’t supposed to fall for an evil sorceress. But in this darkly magical retelling of β€œSleeping Beauty,” true love is more than a simple fairy tale.


✨ Queer Fairytale
πŸ’₯ Dramatic Ending
🐣 Origin Story
πŸ¦„ YA Fantasy

Read my review of Malice.

Pub date: April 13, 2021
Pub date: April 13, 2021

What You Never Knew by Jessica Hamilton

Told in alternating points of view between the living and the dead, this thriller is perfect for fans of THE LOVELY BONES.


βœ’οΈ Debut Novel
πŸ‘οΈ Multiple POV
🌳 Family Focused
πŸ’” Grief and Love

Read my review of What You Never Knew.

Personal Note: girl on being real with myself

I’ve accepted that I just don’t get my wrap up posts done “on time.” (What does “on time” really mean, anyway!?) Do you find yourself feeling a lot of guilt for not getting posts up by a certain date? This supposed to be for fun. And it is, most of the time. But still. Why are we like this??

Happy April Fools to the lot of you!

Sarah

Published by Sarah

My name is Sarah and I can't imagine my life without books. Actually, I can and it's terrible. I'm also into climbing, video games and bothering the nearest cat.

17 thoughts on “New Releases to Read in April (Based on Your Sign)

    1. I’m so glad you found it helpful! A friend of mine is currently reading an ARC of the Infinity Courts and I am SUPER jealous. Pride and Premeditation also sounds like tons of fun. Let me know if you want to BR it! : )

      Liked by 1 person

  1. Oh, I actually enjoyed this post a lot! I’m even adding the Aquarius rec to my TBR because it sounds like something I would enjoy! Great post!

    ~L.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: